Horchata in Valencia

If you ever go to Valencia, one thing you have to try is the traditional local drink, horchata. It’s made from tiger nuts and is kind of whitish in colour – it’s a thick liquid but in the summer it can also be drunk slightly frozen, like a slushie. I have to be honest, the first sip was kinda dodgy but it’s weirdly addictive. Horchata is typically accompanied by fartóns, long sweet dough sticks glazed with sugar. Whilst the drink is quite refreshing, the fartóns mean it’s not the healthiest of snacks, and you’re left feeling slightly sick. Even so, if you’re in the main Market – the Mercado Central, buy a glass (which is about €1) just to taste it…

 

7 comments

  1. dbubble12

    I LOVE Horchata! I’ve never heard of Fartons, though. My husband introduced Horchata to me while we were in El Salvador. It is very South American. I like it best as a slushy-type mixture with a little milk. I wish we had the cultural variety in my city. A juice quest is right up my alley. Good luck, and thank you for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

